‘Call Me By Your Name’ Courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics

Jay-Z’s “Smile,” Ava DuVernay and Samira Wiley were among the special honorees Saturday night in New York, where The Hollywood Reporter sister publication Billboard also was a winner.

The GLAAD Media Awards on Saturday night welcomed a slew of stars, many of whom were wearing blue “&” pins showing their support of acceptance and equality for women, Muslims, immigrants and the LGBTQ community.

Top winners at the ceremony, held at the Hilton Midtown in New York, included Call Me By Your Name for best film in wide release, accepted by Oscar winner James Ivory and producer Peter Spears.

Also at the ceremony, Jay-Z’s mom, Gloria Carter, accepted a Special Recognition Award for the rapper’s song “Smile,” featuring Carter, who used the song to come out as a lesbian. In addition, Ava DuVernay accepted the Excellence in Media Award presented by Sen. Cory Booker, and Samira Wiley accepted the Vita Russo Award from her The Handmaid’s Tale co-star Alexis Bledel.

Other winners included The Hollywood Reporter’s sister publication Billboard, Last Week Tonight With John Oliver, Anderson Cooper 360, NBC Night News With Lester Holt, Katie Couric and Halsey.

The animated short film In a Heartbeat also was the recipient of a Special Recognition Award.

“GLAAD is working to ensure the spirit of unity and intersectionality that was celebrated tonight extends throughout the year,” GLAAD president and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis said. “Tonight’s award recipients are the front lines to ensuring that LGBTQ acceptance moves forward in a political and cultural climate that is working against us.”

Ross Mathews served as host of the event, which opened with a duet by Melissa Etheridge and Adam Lambert to celebrate the 25-year anniversary of Etheridge’s breakthrough album Yes I Am. The duo performed a new arrangement of her song “I’m the Only One.”

At a previous ceremony, held April 12 in Los Angeles, GLAAD honored Britney Spears with the Vanguard prize and Jim Parsons with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award.

Other winners at the L.A. ceremony included A Fantastic Woman, named best feature in limited release, which earlier this year won the Oscar for best foreign-language movie. This Is Us was named best drama series, while Brooklyn Nine-Nine won for best comedy. Andi Mack and Master of None also were among the TV winners.